Understanding Lana Del Rey’s National Anthem


One of the joys of being a songwriter is that you get to make full use of the English language, and write metaphors and similes that can enliven even the darkest of lives.
Unfortunately, sometimes it can be difficult for the average person to appreciate exactly what the skilled songwriter is hinting at. So, as a public service, here’s an explanation of the chorus of Lana Del Rey’s new single, National Anthem:

Tell me I’m your national anthem
Ooh, yeah, baby, bow down
Making me so wow, wow

She’s having sex.

Tell me I’m your national anthem
Sugar, sugar, how now
Take your body down town

She’s still having sex.

Red, white, blue’s in the sky
Summer’s in the air and
Baby, heaven’s in your eyes
I’m your national anthem

She’s finished having sex.
I hope that’s cleared it up for you. Listen below.
(By the way, this post is blatant plagiarism of one of the most amazing pieces of music journalism you’ll ever read: Popjustice’s analysis of the lyrics to Usher’s Love in this Club. Please read it so I feel less guilty about stealing an entire set-up)

Leave a Reply

