Why the Star-Spangled Banner’s as important today as it ever was

A few days ago, I recorded a piece for the BBC’s From Our Own Correspondent programme about why Americans are obsessed with their national anthem, the Star-Spangled Banner.

It was light-hearted, centred on me trying – really trying! – to sing the tune at a baseball team’s anthem auditions.

It was going to be broadcast today, but then the tragic events in Boston happened. It’s hardly the time for a jokey radio programme.

It is, though, a time for the Star-Spangled Banner – a song that can actually give Americans hope at a moment like this.

When I was travelling in the US recently, I asked a lot of people what the song meant to them, and a surprising number told me it was important because of its original meaning – of America standing up to the might of the British Empire.

The song’s about the British bombing Baltimore during the War of 1812; the city somehow holding out.

I was initially confused when people told me this. The US today is the equivalent of what the British empire was in the 19th century. It’s hardly a bunch of pilgrims standing up to a bully. But people would always say the same thing: “S’pose you’re right, but when I sing it, it reminds me I have to stand up for what I believe in, no matter who tries to undermine it.”

There’s a lot of people out there who would say the US “standing up for what it believes in” has been a bad thing. But right now, I prefer to think how remarkable it is that a song can still cause such emotion in people, and bring them together, especially a song that’s so ancient and so bloody difficult to sing.

Here’s Marvin Gaye doing it. It’s probably not the most appropriate version for right now, but it is my favourite.

Leave a Reply

