The beautiful people of Montevideo beautifully sing their national anthem!

Uruguay’s anthem is probably my favourite – it’s got a tune as rambunctious as the Marseillaise, but with all the blood replaced by a joy for life. I think that’s why everyone in the clip below’s smiling. Although, yes, that might also be because my filming was so incompetent!

I made this recently while in Montevideo researching the lives of the men who wrote the anthem – one of whom also happened to write a poem called Apology for the Penis, which I thoroughly recommend you look up.

My book includes the full story of the anthem. It’s surprisingly tragic, apart from the Apology for the Penis bit, obviously. It’s out next month. Pre-order it now! Please. I need to eat!

Leave a Reply

