Muhammad Ali singing the Star-Spangled Banner

After Muhammad Ali died, I tried desperately to find a clip of him singing the US anthem as an excuse to put him up here.

It’s taken me a bloody long time, but – finally! – I’ve got one (see above). He starts singing at 3:07, but watch the whole clip as it shows him at his funniest, most charismatic and potent in combating racism.

It’s about the time he won the Olympic gold medal and then tried to get served in a diner afterwards. “The lady said to me, ‘We don’t serve negroes.’ I said: ‘I don’t eat them either; just give me a cup of coffee and a hamburger.'”

Leave a Reply

